The Press Awards for 2010

THE best of British journalism was celebrated at a glittering gala dinner at London’s restored Savoy hotel on Tuesday April 5, 2011 at what was the original home of Fleet Street awards.

The new awards for national newspapers – ‘The Press Awards’ – replaced the ‘British Press Awards’ and were organised on behalf of the industry by the Society of Editors.

The newly refurbished Savoy provided the backdrop for the most prestigious event in  the industry's calendar with 400 editors, writers and columnists coming together to celebrate the quality, diversity and success of national newspaper journalism in the countryProceeds from the awards went towards Journalists’ Charity and the Society of Editors’ campaign for press freedom.

25 categories of awards including the re-introduction of the Front Page of the Year award and the Newspaper of the Year were chosen on achievements during the year across all platforms – print and online.
The awards included the Cudlipp Award, organised by the British Journalism Review, recognising excellence in popular journalism and the Journalist Charity’s special award.
“Since the NPA asked us to organise the awards for the industry we have consulted national newspapers and we are planning a more focused awards ceremony where winners and their editors and colleagues can celebrate in style among their peers.  It will be an exclusive ‘Fleet Street’ evening to reflect the unique quality and achievements of UK newspapers.” Bob Satchwell, executive director of the Society of Editors

"It is great news that the awards are back in the hands of the industry and that the Journalists’ Charity and the Society of Editors will benefit." 
Chris Boffey, chairman of the Journalists' Charity