The Press Awards for 2011

The Press Awards’ celebrated the best in British newspaper journalism in 2011.

‘The Press Awards’ were organised on behalf of the industry by the Society of Editors, in association with the Journalists' Charity and the Newspaper Publishers' Association. Proceeds have helped to fund the Journalists’ Charity and the Society of Editors’ campaigning for press freedom.

Entries opened on Wednesday January 4 and closed on January 24, 2012.  Shortlists were announced on 17 February and the awards were presented at a glittering ceremony at the Lancaster London Hotel on March 20.

There were a total of 33 categories of awards including the splitting up of categories covering features, columns and interviews to reflect the different styles in newspapers and team awards that were the basis for voting for the Newspaper of the Year that  were chosen by a special panel on achievements during the year across all platforms – print and online.

Staff and freelance journalists could submit entries so long as their work has appeared in a British national newspaper or on its related digital platforms during 2011.
All entries were made online.

The awards culminated with the glittering gala dinner at the Lancaster London Hotel on Tuesday March 20, 2012. There were a limited number of guests reflecting the industry’s desire for a more exclusive gathering than in recent years.

The awards included the Cudlipp Award, organised by the British Journalism Review that recognises excellence in popular journalism and the Journalists’ Charity’s special award.

The judging process in the most rigorously judged journalism awards involved independent figures from inside and outside the industry and representatives of all the UK national titles.

The judging was chaired by Society of Editors executive director Bob Satchwell who reports regularly to a forum of UK newspaper publishers, chaired by Jonathan Grun of the Press Association and representatives of the Journalists’ Charity and the NPA.

In addition to Camelot which has supported the work of the Society of Editors since 2001, awards sponsors also included Google, Precise, Gorkana and Unison.