CPJ International Press Freedom Awards

The International Press Freedom Awards is an annual celebration of courageous journalism. Hosted by the Committee to Protect Journalists, The Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award is a prize for a journalist who has achieved sustained achievements in press freedom. This award was previously called The Burton Benjamin Memorial Award. 

Pulitzer Prize

Established in 1917 in the United States and named after newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer; the Pulitzer Prizes are the most prestigious journalism and literature awards worldwide. 

Every year, the Pulitzer Prize Board will select 102 jurors. Nominees must apply and pay a registration fee to be considered for one of the 21 possible prizes. Winners of 20 of the 21 awards receive prizes of $15,000.  

Thomas M. Keenan NewsGuild of New York Service Award

The Thomas M. Keenan NewsGuild of New York Service Award celebrates the achievements of NewsGuild members. The award was established in 1999 and is named after the longest-serving New York Times unit chair, Tom Keenan. 

One World Media Awards

The One World Media Awards celebrates underreported stories from all over the world. The awards focus on social and political matters relating to the developing world. Awards will be given in 2022 at a ceremony held at BAFTA London. 

International Women’s Media Foundation Awards

The International Women’s Media Foundation Awards have been honouring the endeavours of female journalists from around the world for over 30 years. The awards celebrate achievements in journalism and photojournalism. 

The IWMF also recognises outstanding achievements of female and non-binary journalists with the Gwen Ifill Award in honour of the PBS NewsHour anchor who passed away in 2016. 

National Press Photographers Association Best of Photojournalism

Regarded as a competition designed by photojournalists for photojournalists, the NPPA’s Best of Photojournalism awards consists of almost 100 categories across still photography, video, multimedia, and editing. 

Society of Professional Journalists New America Award

The SPJ’s New America Award highlights the work of journalists shedding light on the issues of immigrants and ethnic communities in the United States.  

Robert F. Kennedy Book and Journalism Awards

Honouring reporting on issues such as social justice and human rights, The Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award was launched in 1969 by journalists that covered Kennedy’s presidential campaign. The book award was launched in 1980 using proceeds from the sale of the biography Robert Kennedy and His Times.

Anthony Shadid Award for Journalism Ethics

Run by the Center for Journalism Ethics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the Anthony Shadid Award for Journalism Ethics has been running for 13 years. It recognises the ethical decision-making journalists use when reporting stories. 

Award winners receive a $2,500 prize at an annual ceremony in New York. Nominations are free. 

The World Press Photo Contest

The annual World Press Photo Contest acknowledges and celebrates the work of photojournalists and documentary photographers. The competition is open to photojournalists from all over the world, with a €5,000 prize for the global winner and €1,000 for each of the 24 regional winners. 

In addition to the monetary prize, all winning work is published online, in a yearbook, and displayed at an exhibition. Winners are also invited to attend an event in Amsterdam. 

Selden Ring Award

Highlighting the significance of critical investigative reporting, the Selden Ring Award offers a $50,000 prize to journalists for impactful work. 

The Ring Foundation has partnered with the USC Annenberg School of Journalism to offer the award since 1989. The award is open to freelance and full-time reporters writing for US newspapers that are in general circulation. 

Education Writers Association National Awards for Education Reporting

The Education Writers Association’s National Awards for Education Reporting aim to recognise the efforts of education journalists and inspire better work in the field. Journalists from all media can participate. 

The awards include prizes in seven categories as well as the following special prizes; EGF Accelerator’s Eddie Prize, Ronald Moskowitz Prize for Outstanding Beat Reporting, and Fred M. Hechinger Grand Prize for Distinguished Education Reporting. 

Entry fees are $60 for EWA members and $110 for non-members. Prizes range from $1000 to $10,000.